

The American Planning Association Sustainable Communities Division Announces the Winners of the Ninth Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability

May 2, 2022 - The American Planning Association's Sustainable Communities Division (APA SCD) is pleased to announce the winners of the ninth annual <u>Awards for Excellence in Sustainability</u>. The awards honor projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations whose work is dedicated to supporting sustainable communities.

The winners represent extraordinary achievements in seven sustainable planning categories. The categories and winners are:

- <u>State or Regional Award</u>: *Kansas City Regional Climate Action Plan*, Mid-America Regional Council (Kansas City Metropolitan Region)
- <u>Community-wide Award</u>: *Green Worcester Sustainability and Resilience Strategic Plan*, City of Worcester and Larissa Brown + Associates (Worcester, Massachusetts)
- <u>Sub-area Award</u>: <u>*Riverlife: Completing the Loop*</u>, evolve environment :: architecture, Fourth Economy Consulting, and Thread Strategies (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
- <u>Environment, Climate, & Energy Award</u>: *TransformTO Net Zero Strategy*, City of Toronto and Sustainability Solutions Group (Toronto, Canada)
- <u>Quality of Life Award</u>: *Southern Nevada Extreme Heat Vulnerability Analysis*, Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada (Southern Nevada)
- <u>Policy, Law, or Tool Award</u>: *Edmonton Carbon Budget*, City of Edmonton and Sustainability Solutions Group (Edmonton, Canada)
- <u>Student Award</u>: *Equity Lenses Targeting Equitable Community Investment Across Southern California*, University of California Los Angeles Luskin School of Public Affairs and Southern California Association of Governments (Southern California)

To recognize two additional outstanding nominations, the jury has also awarded two Merit Awards in the State or Regional Award category:

- <u>State or Regional Award (Merit Award)</u>: *Climate Action Plan for the Chicago Metropolitan Region*, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (Chicago Metropolitan Region)
- <u>State or Regional Award (Merit Award)</u>: *Hawai'i 2050 Sustainability Plan: Charting a Course for the Decade of Action (2020-2030)*, State of Hawai'i Office of Planning and Sustainable Development, Statewide Sustainability Branch (State of Hawai'i)

About the American Planning Association (APA): APA is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides leadership in the development of vital communities. APA includes a professional institute for certified planners, 47 chapters, 23 divisions, and special memberships for students. Find out more about APA at https://www.planning.org/.

About the APA Sustainable Communities Division: The Sustainable Communities Division (SCD) provides resources, information, and best practices to support planners in creating sustainable, resilient, and equitable communities. Through its forums for dialogue, collaboration, advocacy, and professional development, the SCD engages planners in innovatively addressing the evolving ecological, social, and economic factors that shape our communities. More about the Division can be found at <u>apascd.com</u> and <u>planning.org/divisions/sustainable/</u>.